The Transfer to User is option displayed on the Record Status menu, which can be accessed by clicking the status name of a record on the Data page.
This approach can bypass the limits imposed by other features like groups or user roles. As soon as a record is assigned to a user, that user will be able to access it to the extent allowed by their user role. This means that they can edit the record if they have edit access. The owner of a record will be shown under the User column in the Data page.